Explaining yoga terms

While reading about yoga, you may come across several yoga terms. Meaning of these words specific to yoga may be unknown to you. Therefore, it may be essential to explain these terminologies in order to understand yoga in better manner. Following terms are generally in yoga.

8 limbs yoga: Basically, you may come across eight principles and eight aspects related to the yoga which tell you how people can live in this world in a harmonious manner. Explanation about these principles can be found in a book called Yoga Sutra written by Patanjali. Niyama, Yama, Asana, Pratyahara, Pranayama, Dhyana, Dharana and Samidhi are known as the limbs of yoga.

200 RYT and 500 RYT: It is a term that may not be seen in yoga philosophy directly. However, mention of this world can be seen in the portfolio of a yoga teacher. So, what is it? Through an organization named Yoga Alliance, curriculum and standards related to the yoga is generally decided. By fulfilling requirements as a yoga teacher, you may able to earn credential which is generally expressed in the form of RYT. It is an abbreviation for ‘registered yoga teacher’.

200 RYT means, a course of 200 hours is completed by the professional. In case of 500 RYT, a professional has to finish a course for 200 hour then they have to do an addition course for 300 hours. Both expertise and experience of the yoga teacher can be known in the process.

Asana: By simply translating the word, you may found that it means seat. Position in yoga is explained as asanas. Yoga terms like asana have come from Sanskrit. Asana is one of the parts of yoga. Body can be strengthened with the help of asanas. Some meditation processes and breathing exercise can be noticed on the occasion too. Generally 84 asanas of classic nature can be found in yoga. From a single asana, several other variations can be created.

Asthanga Yoga:  Eight components are indicated by the yoga terms Asthanga. Style like Asthanga Vinyasa is generally explained on the occasion. During practice of Asthanga, a sequence is maintained.  Breaths are taken in a synchronized manner. Dynamic style and fast paced nature can be observed at the time. Lot of strength may be required to perform this form of yoga. Therefore, it may pose some challenges to the beginners.

Chakras:  In our body, several centers of energy can be noticed. There are about seven chakras in yoga. These chakras can be found from the head to the spine. By looking at the nature of the negative emotion, it is possible to know which one of your chakras has been blocked.

Hatha Yoga: Both postures and breathing technique are given importance here. Most of yoga styles are present in this category. Both Asthanga yoga and Iyengar yoga are forms of Hatha yoga. Different variation of this yoga form can be found. However, yoga with slow paced nature may be more adequate for the beginners.

By knowing about these yoga terms, you may able to learn about the session in better manner.

WC= 514

ALSO CHECK: How to enhance skin elasticity?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.